Häufig gestellte Fragen

was ist das Ziel dieser Website?

Der Weltklimarat IPCC veröffentlicht nur ein globales CO2-Budget und keine CO2-Budgets für einzelne Länder. Daher ist es für die Öffentlichkeit und die Medien schwierig, ihre Regierungen zur Verantwortung zu ziehen. Diese Website möchte dieses Problem beheben, indem sie CO2-Budgets für alle Länder der Welt zur Verfügung stellt, die einfach zu verstehen sind und auf den besten wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen beruhen.

was meint das Paris-Abkommen mit "deutlich unter zwei Grad"?

Das Paris-Abkommen wurde von knapp 200 Ländern ausgehandelt. Um einen Konsens zu erzielen, nutzen die Verhandler gelegentlich "konstruktive Mehrdeutigkeit" in ihren Formulierungen. Das Ziel, die Klimaerwärmung auf "deutlich unter zwei Grad" zu begrenzen, ist ein solcher Fall. Es lässt einen Interpretationsspielraum.

Wir haben entschieden, dieses Ziel als Begrenzung der Erwärmung auf 1,8 Grad zu interpretieren.

Diese Entscheidung hat ein paar Berechnungen erforderlich gemacht, weil der Weltklimarat IPCC kein CO2-Budget für 1,8 Grad ausweist, sondern nur für 1,77 und 1,87 Grad. Da es einen linearen Zusammenhang zwischen der Klimaerwärmung und den CO2-Emissionen gibt, lässt sich aus den anderen beiden Werten ein CO2-Budget für 1,8 Grad berechnen.

wie wurden die CO2-Budgets der einzelnen Länder berechnet?

Das Paris-Abkommen wurde im Dezember 2015 verabschiedet. Daher nehmen wir den 1. Januar 2016 als Startpunkt. An diesem Tag wird das verbleibende CO2-Budget der Welt auf die einzelnen Länder gemäß ihrem Anteil an der Weltbevölkerung verteilt. So wird jeder Mensch, der an diesem Tag gelebt hat, genau gleich behandelt.

In den folgenden Jahren ziehen wir vom CO2-Budget eines Landes die tatsächlichen Emissionen ab, um zu sehen, wie viel noch übrig bleibt.

Dann berechnen wir, für wie viele Jahre ein Land seine aktuellen Emissionen beibehalten kann, bis das CO2-Budget aufgebraucht ist. Es ist allerdings unrealistisch, dass ein Land seine aktuellen Emissionen beibehält und diese dann plötzlich auf null reduziert. Daher gehen wir davon aus, dass jedes Land seine Emissionen linear reduziert, bis diese bei null liegen und das Land klimaneutral ist. Das erreichen wir, indem wir die Zahl der maximal verbleibenden Jahre mit aktuellen Emissionen mit zwei multiplizieren.

Dieser Ansatz hat folgenden Effekt: Länder mit hohen Pro-Kopf-Emissionen müssen schneller klimaneutral werden als Länder mit niedrigen Pro-Kopf-Emissionen.

was ist der Unterschied zwischen „CO2-neutral“ und „klimaneutral“?

„CO2-neutral“ bedeutet, dass ein Land netto kein CO2 emittiert. Die bestehenden Emissionen und die CO2-Senken gleichen sich gegenseitig aus. China will zum Beispiel bis zum Jahr 2060 CO2-neutral werden.

„Treibhausgasneutral“ beinhaltet neben CO2 auch die anderen Treibhausgase wie Methan, Lachgas etc. Die EU will zum Beispiel bis zum Jahr 2050 treibhausgasneutral werden.

„Klimaneutral“ würde bedeuten, dass ein Land überhaupt keine Auswirkungen aufs Klima zu verantworten hat. Das würde auch die Emission von Staubpartikeln etc. umfassen. Viele Wissenschaftler halten Klimaneutralität daher für unmöglich.

welche Rohdaten fließen in die Berechnung ein?

1. Das globale CO2-Budget

Wir benutzen die CO2-Budgets, die der Weltklimarat IPCC zur Verfügung stellt (siehe Tabelle auf Seite 108). Diese Budgets beginnen aber am 1. Januar 2018. Daher addieren wir zu diesen Budgets die Emissionen der Jahre 2017 und 2016.

2. Weltbevölkerung

Hier benutzen wir die UN-Daten der UN World Populations Prospects 2019. Diese liefern die Bevölkerung aller Länder am 1. Juli jeden Jahres. Daher nehmen wir den Durchschnitt der Jahre 2015 und 2016, um die Bevölkerung am 1. Januar 2016 zu ermitteln.

3. Emissionen aus der Nutzung fossiler Energien und aus der Zementherstellung

Hier benutzen wir die Daten vom Global Carbon Project (GCP). Diese zeigen im Jahr 2020 die Emissionen aller Länder bis zum Jahr 2018. Für das Jahr 2019 nehmen wir daher ebenfalls die Emissionen des Jahres 2018.

4. Emissionen aus der Bodennutzung (Land Use Change)

Hier nutzen wir die Daten eines Modells namens "Bookkeeping of Land Use Emissions" oder kurz BLUE. Dieser Datensatz umfasst Daten für einzelne Länder und Jahre. Im Jahr 2020 waren diese Emissionen bis zum Jahr 2018 bekannt. Daher nehmen wir für das Jahr 2019 erneut die Emissionen aus dem Jahr 2018.

5. Emissionen aus der internationalen Luft- und Schifffahrt

Das GCP liefert diese Zahlen nur aggregiert für alle Länder. Um zu berechnen, welches Land für welchen Anteil dieser Emissionen verantwortlich ist, verteilen wir diese Emissionen gemäß dem Anteil eines Lands an der globalen Wirtschaftsleistung auf die einzelnen Länder.

6. Globale Wirtschaftsleistung (Welt-BIP)

Hier benutzen wir einen Datensatz der Weltbank (nominales BIP aller Länder in aktuellen US-Dollar).

 

Hinweis: Die verschiedenen Datensätze enthalten nicht alle Daten für die gleichen Länder und Territorien. Daher haben wir einige kleinere Anpassungen vorgenommen:

  • Einigen Territorien wie Französisch-Guyana wurden keine Emissionen aus der Luft- und Schifffahrt zugeordnet.
  • Kosovo und Serbien wurden als unterschiedliche Einheiten behandelt.
  • Taiwan und China wurden als unterschiedliche Einheiten behandelt.
das Paris-Abkommen sagt, dass Industriestaaten "die Führung übernehmen" sollen bei der Reduktion der Emissionen. wurde das bei den CO2-Budgets dieser Länder berücksichtigt?

Nein, wurde es nicht. Wir teilen die Meinung, dass Industriestaaten mit hohen Emissionen in der Vergangenheit "die Führung übernehmen" sollten. Das Paris-Abkommen sagt allerdings nicht, was das praktisch bedeutet. Daher haben wir das bei den CO2-Budgets der Industriestaaten nicht berücksichtigt.

sind diese CO2-Budgets rechtlich bindend?

Das versuchen derzeit Gerichte in verschiedenen Ländern zu klären. In den Niederlanden wurde die Regierung vom Obersten Gericht dazu verpflichtet, sich zumindest an die Minimalvorgaben des Weltklimarats IPCC zu halten (siehe Urgenda Urteil). Nun versuchen Jugendliche aus Portugal das auf andere Länder auszudehnen. Sie haben 33 Mitgliedsländer der Europäischen Menschenrechtskonvention (EMRK) wegen ihrer Klimapolitiken verklagt. Das betrifft alle EU-Staaten, Grossbritannien, die Schweiz, Norwegen, Russland, die Türkei und die Ukraine (siehe hier). Greta Thunberg und andere Jugendliche haben ausserdem eine Beschwerde bei der UNO gegen Argentinien, Brasilien, Deutschland, Frankreich und die Türkei eingereicht. Diese Länder verstiessen gegen die UN-Kinderrechtskonvention (siehe hier). Und in Deutschland gibt es schliesslich eine Verfassungsklage von Luisa Neubauer und anderen gegen die Bundesregierung mit dem Argument die deutsche Klimapolitik verstosse gegen das Grundgesetz (siehe hier).

Bei all diesen Klagen gilt es zwei Hürden zu überwinden: Zum einen muss sich das jeweilige Gericht trauen überhaupt ein Urteil zu fällen. Die Klimapolitik eines Landes muss also „justiziabel“ sein. Und zum anderen muss sich das Gericht trauen, minimale Klimaziele zu definieren – zum Beispiel auf der Grundlage eines CO2-Budgets. Der Massstab ist hier das Urgenda-Urteil. Dieses bejaht, dass die niederländische Klimapolitik justiziabel ist, und definiert dann auf der Basis eines Berichts des Weltklimarats IPCC ein Minimalziel. Das ist allerdings nicht selbstverständlich. Bei einem Fall in den USA entschieden die Richter, die jeweilige Klimapolitik sei nicht justiziabel (siehe hier) und bei einem Fall in Deutschland trauten sich die Richter nicht, ein minimales Klimaziel zu definieren (siehe hier)

Lesetipps: Die London School of Economics und die Anwaltskanzlei Norton Rose Fulbright veröffentlichen jedes Jahr einen Bericht über den Stand von Klimaklagen weltweit (siehe hier und hier). Es gibt eine Datenbank aller Klimagesetze und Klimaklagen (siehe hier) und die Internationale Anwaltskammer hat einen Leitfaden für Klimaklagen veröffentlicht (siehe hier).

gibt es unterschiedliche Methoden, um nationale CO2-Budgets zu berechnen?

Ja, viele. Wie man das globale CO2-Budget auf sehr unterschiedliche Länder verteilt, ist keine wissenschaftliche, sondern eine politische Frage und eine Frage der Fairness.

Hier lassen sich die folgenden Prinzipien unterscheiden:

  • Verantwortung

Länder, die wegen hoher Emissionen in der Vergangenheit für einen großen Teil des CO2 in der Atmosphäre verantwortlich sind, bekommen ein kleineres Budget. Das Problem dabei ist, ab welchem Jahr man die Emissionen zu zählen beginnt . Wenn man im Jahr 1850, dem Start der industriellen Revolution, anfängt, dann haben viele Industriestaaten ihr CO2-Budget bereits überzogen.

  • Leistungsfähigkeit

Länder mit hohem Pro-Kopf-Einkommen müssen mehr tun und bekommen daher ein kleineres CO2-Budget.

  • Gleichheit

Jeder Mensch auf der Erde hat das gleiche Recht, CO2 zu emittieren. Auch hier stellt sich die Frage: Wann beginnt man zu zählen?

  • Angestammtes Recht (Grandfathering)

Länder mit hohen Emissionen bekommen ein größeres Budget, weil es ihr "angestammtes Recht" ist, die Atmosphäre so stark zu verschmutzen.

 

Wie verhält sich nun der #showyourbudgets-Ansatz zu diesen Prinzipien?

  • Verantwortung

Unser Startzeitpunkt, der 1. Januar 2016, ist spät. Man kann allerdings argumentieren, dass erst mit dem Paris-Abkommen alle Länder die Verpflichtung haben, ihre Emissionen zu reduzieren.

  • Leistungsfähigkeit

Bei unserem Ansatz müssen Länder mit hohen Pro-Kopf-Emissionen schneller klimaneutral werden als Länder mit niedrigen Pro-Kopf-Emissionen. Da hohe Pro-Kopf-Emissionen in der Regel mit einem hohen Pro-Kopf-Einkommen einhergehen, müssen die leistungsfähigsten Länder zuerst klimaneutral werden.

  • Gleichheit

Jeder Mensch, der am 1. Januar 2016 am Leben war, bekommt das gleiche CO2-Budget.

  • Angestammtes Recht (Grandfathering)

Unser Ansatz umfasst kein Grandfathering, wo hohe Emissionen in der Vergangenheit höhere Emissionen in der Zukunft rechtfertigen. Unser Ansatz vernachlässigt allerdings die Emissionen vor dem 1. Januar 2016. 

 

Hinweis: Der deutsche Sachverständigenrat für Umweltfragen, der die Bundesregierung berät, benutzt den gleichen Ansatz wie wir in seinem jüngsten Bericht.

Lesetipps: Eine gute Übersicht der Literatur zur "Vergleichbarkeit der Anstrengungen" findet sich auf der Seite des Climate Action Tracker (CAT). Außerdem gibt es den Climate Equity Reference Calculator, wo man verschiedene Parameter selbst bestimmen kann.

warum hat Land X nur ein, zwei oder drei CO2-Budgets?

Manche Länder haben die anspruchsvolleren CO2-Budgets bereits aufgebraucht. Das passiert, wenn die Pro-Kopf-Emissionen deutlich über dem globalen Durchschnitt liegen.

wird diese Website aktualisiert?

Ja, wir werden diese Website jährlich aktualisieren, wenn neue Emissionsdaten vorliegen.

was kann ich mit diesen Grafiken tun?

Diese Grafiken unterliegen einer CC-BY-4.0-Lizenz. Die Grafiken können daher für jeden Zweck genutzt werden, vorausgesetzt #showyourbudgets wird als Autor genannt.

wer hat diese Website gemacht und wie kann ich Sie kontaktieren?

Diese Webseite wurde von einem Team entwickelt:

  • Projektmanagement: Christian Mihatsch, ein deutscher Klimajournalist (siehe weltinnenpolitik.net)
  • Technische Implementation: Jesper Brøndum Pedersen, CTO von BlueVisuals, einer dänisch-thailändischen Softwarefirma, die auf Datenvisualisierung spezialisiert ist 
  • Grafikdesign: Jules Weigel, CEO von karo3.de, einer deutschen Firma für Webdesign
  • Wissenschaftliche Beratung: Stefan Rahmstorf, Professor für Physik der Ozeane an der Universität Potsdam und Teamleiter für Erdsystemanalyse am Potsdam-Institut für Klimafolgenforschung (PIK)

#showyourbdugets hat eine Medienpartnerschaft mit klimareporter.de.

Das Team kann unter info@showyourbudgets.org kontaktiert werden (nur deutsch und englisch).

Wir sind auch auf Twitter mit dem Handle @showyourbudgets.

was sind die kompletten Literaturangaben der benutzten Daten?

1. Globales CO2-Budget

Datei: https://www.ipcc.ch/site/assets/uploads/sites/2/2019/05/SR15_Chapter2_Low_Res.pdf

Zitierweise: Rogelj, J., D. Shindell, K. Jiang, S. Fifita, P. Forster, V. Ginzburg, C. Handa, H. Kheshgi, S. Kobayashi, E. Kriegler, L. Mundaca, R. Séférian, and M.V.Vilariño, 2018: Mitigation Pathways Compatible with 1.5°C in the Context of Sustainable Development. In: Global Warming of 1.5°C. An IPCC Special Report on the impacts of global warming of 1.5°C above pre-industrial levels and related global greenhouse gas emission pathways, in the context of strengthening the global response to the threat of climate change, sustainable development, and efforts to eradicate poverty [Masson-Delmotte, V., P. Zhai, H.-O. Pörtner, D. Roberts, J. Skea, P.R. Shukla, A. Pirani, W. Moufouma-Okia, C. Péan, R. Pidcock, S. Connors, J.B.R. Matthews, Y. Chen, X. Zhou, M.I. Gomis, E. Lonnoy, T. Maycock, M. Tignor, and T. Waterfield (eds.)].

 

2. Weltbevölkerung

Datei: WPP2019_POP_F01_1_TOTAL_POPULATION_BOTH_SEXES

Zitierweise: United Nations, Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Population Division (2019). World Population Prospects 2019, Online Edition. Rev. 1.

 

3. Emissionen aus der Nutzung fossiler Energien und aus der Zementproduktion

Datei: National_Carbon_Emissions_2019v1.0.xlsx

Zitierweise: Friedlingstein, P., Jones, M. W., O'Sullivan, M., Andrew, R. M., Hauck, J., Peters, G. P., Peters, W., Pongratz, J., Sitch, S., Le Quéré, C., Bakker, D. C. E., Canadell, J. G., Ciais, P., Jackson, R. B., Anthoni, P., Barbero, L., Bastos, A., Bastrikov, V., Becker, M., Bopp, L., Buitenhuis, E., Chandra, N., Chevallier, F., Chini, L. P., Currie, K. I., Feely, R. A., Gehlen, M., Gilfillan, D., Gkritzalis, T., Goll, D. S., Gruber, N., Gutekunst, S., Harris, I., Haverd, V., Houghton, R. A., Hurtt, G., Ilyina, T., Jain, A. K., Joetzjer, E., Kaplan, J. O., Kato, E., Klein Goldewijk, K., Korsbakken, J. I., Landschützer, P., Lauvset, S. K., Lefèvre, N., Lenton, A., Lienert, S., Lombardozzi, D., Marland, G., McGuire, P. C., Melton, J. R., Metzl, N., Munro, D. R., Nabel, J. E. M. S., Nakaoka, S.-I., Neill, C., Omar, A. M., Ono, T., Peregon, A., Pierrot, D., Poulter, B., Rehder, G., Resplandy, L., Robertson, E., Rödenbeck, C., Séférian, R., Schwinger, J., Smith, N., Tans, P. P., Tian, H., Tilbrook, B., Tubiello, F. N., van der Werf, G. R., Wiltshire, A. J., and Zaehle, S.: Global Carbon Budget 2019, Earth Syst. Sci. Data, 11, 1783–1838, https://doi.org/10.5194/essd-11-1783-2019, 2019.

 

4. Emissionen aus der Landnutzung

Datei: Country_ELUC_11102019_peatAdded_BLUEonly

Zitierweise: Hansis, E., Davis, S. J., and Pongratz, J.: Relevance of methodological choices for accounting of land use change carbon fluxes, Global Biogeochem. Cy., 29, 1230–1246, https://doi.org/10.1002/2014GB004997, 2015. (Update 2019)

 

5. Globale Wirtschaftsleistung 

Datei: API_NY.GDP.MKTP.CD_DS2_en_excel_v2_988354

Zitierweise: The World Bank: Dataset name: NY.GDP.MKTP.CD, Data source: World Bank national accounts data and OECD National Accounts data files

Frequently Asked Questions

what is the purpose of this website?

Since the IPCC only provides global but not national CO2 budgets, it is difficult for the general public and the media to hold their governments to account. This website aims to solve this problem by providing easy-to-understand national CO2 budgets based on the best scientific knowledge and a simple fairness principle.

what does the Paris Agreement mean with “well below 2 degrees”?

The Paris Agreement has been negotiated by close to 200 countries. In order to reach consensus the countries sometimes resort to “constructive ambiguity”. The goal to limit global warming to “well below two degrees” is a case in point. It is open to interpretation. 

We decided to interpret the goal as 1.8 degrees. 

This choice made some calculations necessary because the IPCC does not provide a global CO2 budget for 1.8 degrees but for 1.77 and 1.87 degrees only. Since there is a linear relationship between global warming and CO2 emissions, it is however easy to calculate a global budget for 1.8 degrees based on the other two budgets.

how did you calculate each country’s CO2 budget?

Since the Paris Agreement has been adopted in December 2015 we take the 1st of January 2016 as the starting date. On this day the global budgets for the different temperature goals and probabilities are shared out to individual countries based on their share of world population. Like this, every human alive on this day is treated in exactly the same way.

In the following years we deduct from the national CO2 budgets the actual emissions of any given country to see how much remains.

Then we calculate how many years a country could maintain its current emissions until the budget is depleted. However, it is unrealistic that a country maintains its emissions at the current level and then reduces them suddenly to zero. Therefore, we assume that a country reduces its emissions in a linear way. For this we multiply the number of years by 2 to calculate when a country needs to reach net-zero emissions and become climate neutral.

This approach has the following effect: Countries with high per capita emissions need to become climate neutral faster than countries with low per capita emissions.

what is the difference between "CO2-neutral" and "climate neutral"?

"CO2-neutral" means that a country emits no net CO2. Existing emissions and CO2 sinks offset each other. China, for example, wants to become CO2-neutral by the year 2060.

"Greenhouse gas neutral" includes not only CO2 but also the other greenhouse gases such as methane, nitrous oxide, etc. The EU, for example, wants to become greenhouse gas neutral by the year 2050.

"Climate neutral" would mean that a country is not responsible for any impact on the climate at all. This would also include the emission of dust particles etc. Many scientists therefore consider climate neutrality impossible.

what data do you use and how do you compute it?
  1. Global carbon budget

We use the CO2 budgets provided by the IPCC (see table on page 108). However, these budgets start on the 1st of January 2018. Due to this we add to these budgets the global emissions in the years 2017 and 2016.

  1.   World population

Here we use data from the UN World Population Prospects 2019. Since these figures are given for the 1st of July of every year we take the average of the years 2015 and 2016 to get the population on 1st of January 2016.

  1.   Emissions from fossil fuel use and cement production

Here we use the data from the Global Carbon Project (GCP). In 2020 this data is available until 2018. So for the year 2019 we assume that emissions remained on the level of 2018.

  1.   Emissions from Land Use Change

Here we use the data from the "Bookkeeping of Land Use Emissions" model or short BLUE. This dataset provides emissions data for individual countries and years. As of 2020 this data was also available up to the year 2018. So for 2019 we again used the numbers of 2018.

  1.   Emissions from international aviation and shipping (aka bunkers)

The GCP provides this data but on a global level only. To calculate which share every country is responsible for we allocate these emissions based on a country’s share of global GDP.

  1.   Global GDP

Here we use data from the World Bank (nominal GDP per country in current dollars).

 

Note, the various datasets don’t all contain data for the same territories and countries. This led to several small adjustments:

  • Several territories such as French Guyana did not get their share of emissions from international aviation and shipping.
  • Kosovo and Serbia have been treated as separate entities.
  • Taiwan and China have been treated as separate entities.
the Paris Agreement says that developed countries should be „taking the lead“, when it comes to reducing emissions. has this been factored into the budgets of these countries?

No, it hasn’t. We agree that developed countries with high historical emissions should be “taking the lead”. However, the Paris Agreement does not specify what that means in practical terms. Therefore, we did not include this.

are these budgets legally binding?

Courts in various countries are currently trying to answer this question. In the Netherlands, the government has been obliged by the Supreme Court to adhere at least to the minimum requirements of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) (see Urgenda ruling). Now young people from Portugal are trying to extend this to other countries. They have sued 33 member countries of the European Convention on Human Rights (ECHR) for their climate policies. This concerns all EU countries, Great Britain, Switzerland, Norway, Russia, Turkey and Ukraine (see here). Further, Greta Thunberg and other young people have filed a complaint with the UN against Argentina, Brazil, Germany, France and Turkey. These countries violated the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child (see here). And finally, in Germany there is a constitutional complaint by Luisa Neubauer and others against the German government, arguing that German climate policy violates the German constitution (see here).

With all these complaints there are two hurdles to overcome: On the one hand, the respective court must dare to make a decision at all. The climate policy of a country must therefore be "litigable". And secondly, the court must dare to define minimum climate targets - for example, on the basis of a CO2 budget. The yardstick here is the Urgenda ruling. This affirms that Dutch climate policy is litigable and then defines a minimum target on the basis of a report by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC). However, this is not a matter of course. In one case in the USA  the judges decided that the respective climate policies were not litigable (see here) and in one case in Germany the judges didn't dare to set a minimum climate target (see here).

Reading tips: The London School of Economics and the law firm Norton Rose Fulbright publish an annual report on the state of climate lawsuits worldwide (see here and here). There is a database of all climate laws and law suits (see here) and the International Bar Association has published a guide to climate claims (see here).

are there different ways of calculating national carbon budgets?

Yes, there are many because sharing out the global CO2 budget among very different countries is not a scientific question but a political question and a question of fairness.

Here several principles can be identified:

  • Responsibility

Countries who have contributed a lot to the current stock of CO2 in the atmosphere through high historical emissions get a smaller budget. Here the problem is: From which year does one start counting emissions? If one starts in 1850 with the start of the industrial revolution many developed countries have already overdrawn their budget.

  • Capability

Countries with high per capita income need to do more and hence they get a smaller budget.

  • Equality

Every person on Earth has the same right to pollute. Here again the question is: When does one start counting?

  • Grandfathering

Countries with high emissions get a bigger budget since it is their “historical right” to pollute the atmosphere on a certain level.

 

So how does the #showyourbudgets approach compare to these principles?

  • Responsibility

Our start date (1st of January 2016) is late. However, one can argue that only with the Paris Agreement all countries have a legal obligation to reduce their emissions.

  • Capability

In our approach countries with high per capita emissions need to become climate neutral faster than countries with low per capita emissions. Since high per capita emissions usually correlate with a high per capita income the most “capable” countries need to become climate neutral first.

  • Equality

In our approach, for every person alive on the 1st of January 2016 his or her country gets the same share of the global CO2 budget.

  • Grandfathering

Our approach does not include an element of grandfathering after the 1st of January 2016. However, it also ignores the emissions before that date.

 

Note: The German Advisory Council on the Environment which advises the German government uses the same approach as we do in its latest report

Further reading: A good overview of the literature about the “comparability of effort” can be found on the website of the Climate Action Tracker (CAT). And then there is the Climate Equity Reference Calculator where one can choose different parameters.

why does country X only have one, two or three budgets instead of four?

Some countries have already used up the more ambitious budgets. This happens when the per capita emissions are well above the global average.

will this website be updated?

Yes, we will update this website on a yearly basis when new emissions data is available.

what can I do with these graphics?

These graphics are licensed under CC BY 4.0. So they can be used for any purpose as long as credit is given to #showyourbudgets.

who created this website and how can I contact you?

This website has been created by:

  • Project management: Christian Mihatsch, a German climate journalist (see weltinnenpolitik.net)
  • Technical implementation: Jesper Brøndum Pedersen, CTO of BlueVisuals, a Danish-Thai software company specialised in data visualisation
  • Graphic design: Jules Weigel, CEO of karo3.de, a German web design company
  • Scientific advice: Stefan Rahmstorf, Professor of Physics of the Ocean at Potsdam University and Head of Earth System Analysis at the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (PIK)

#showyourbudgets has a media partnership with klimareporter.de.

The team can be contacted at info@showyourbudgets.org (English and German only).

We are also on Twitter with the handle @showyourbudgets.

what are the full citations for the data you used?

1. Global carbon budget

Filename: https://www.ipcc.ch/site/assets/uploads/sites/2/2019/05/SR15_Chapter2_Low_Res.pdf

Citation: Rogelj, J., D. Shindell, K. Jiang, S. Fifita, P. Forster, V. Ginzburg, C. Handa, H. Kheshgi, S. Kobayashi, E. Kriegler, L. Mundaca, R. Séférian, and M.V.Vilariño, 2018: Mitigation Pathways Compatible with 1.5°C in the Context of Sustainable Development. In: Global Warming of 1.5°C. An IPCC Special Report on the impacts of global warming of 1.5°C above pre-industrial levels and related global greenhouse gas emission pathways, in the context of strengthening the global response to the threat of climate change, sustainable development, and efforts to eradicate poverty [Masson-Delmotte, V., P. Zhai, H.-O. Pörtner, D. Roberts, J. Skea, P.R. Shukla, A. Pirani, W. Moufouma-Okia, C. Péan, R. Pidcock, S. Connors, J.B.R. Matthews, Y. Chen, X. Zhou, M.I. Gomis, E. Lonnoy, T. Maycock, M. Tignor, and T. Waterfield (eds.)].

 

2. World population

Filename: WPP2019_POP_F01_1_TOTAL_POPULATION_BOTH_SEXES

Citation: United Nations, Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Population Division (2019). World Population Prospects 2019, Online Edition. Rev. 1.

 

3. Emissions from fossil fuel use and cement production

Filename: National_Carbon_Emissions_2019v1.0.xlsx

Citation: Friedlingstein, P., Jones, M. W., O'Sullivan, M., Andrew, R. M., Hauck, J., Peters, G. P., Peters, W., Pongratz, J., Sitch, S., Le Quéré, C., Bakker, D. C. E., Canadell, J. G., Ciais, P., Jackson, R. B., Anthoni, P., Barbero, L., Bastos, A., Bastrikov, V., Becker, M., Bopp, L., Buitenhuis, E., Chandra, N., Chevallier, F., Chini, L. P., Currie, K. I., Feely, R. A., Gehlen, M., Gilfillan, D., Gkritzalis, T., Goll, D. S., Gruber, N., Gutekunst, S., Harris, I., Haverd, V., Houghton, R. A., Hurtt, G., Ilyina, T., Jain, A. K., Joetzjer, E., Kaplan, J. O., Kato, E., Klein Goldewijk, K., Korsbakken, J. I., Landschützer, P., Lauvset, S. K., Lefèvre, N., Lenton, A., Lienert, S., Lombardozzi, D., Marland, G., McGuire, P. C., Melton, J. R., Metzl, N., Munro, D. R., Nabel, J. E. M. S., Nakaoka, S.-I., Neill, C., Omar, A. M., Ono, T., Peregon, A., Pierrot, D., Poulter, B., Rehder, G., Resplandy, L., Robertson, E., Rödenbeck, C., Séférian, R., Schwinger, J., Smith, N., Tans, P. P., Tian, H., Tilbrook, B., Tubiello, F. N., van der Werf, G. R., Wiltshire, A. J., and Zaehle, S.: Global Carbon Budget 2019, Earth Syst. Sci. Data, 11, 1783–1838, https://doi.org/10.5194/essd-11-1783-2019, 2019.

 

4. Emissions from Land Use Change

Filename: Country_ELUC_11102019_peatAdded_BLUEonly

Citation: Hansis, E., Davis, S. J., and Pongratz, J.: Relevance of methodological choices for accounting of land use change carbon fluxes, Global Biogeochem. Cy., 29, 1230–1246, https://doi.org/10.1002/2014GB004997, 2015. (Update 2019)

 

5. Global GDP

Filename: API_NY.GDP.MKTP.CD_DS2_en_excel_v2_988354

Citation: The World Bank: Dataset name: NY.GDP.MKTP.CD, Data source: World Bank national accounts data and OECD National Accounts data files